Fabula, la recherche en littérature (debats)

Prix Malcolm Bowie


Information publiée le vendredi 16 novembre 2007 par Sophie Rabau (source : Alison Fell)

Malcolm Bowie Prize

Malcolm Bowie, who sadly died in January 2007, was not only the most eminent and inspirational Anglophone scholar of French literature and theory of his generation, he was a towering figure in the field because of his tireless devotion to the scholarly community both in the UK and abroad, his service to the Society for French Studies offering but one example of this: he was President of the Society (1994-96), as well as General editor of French Studies (1980-87).

The Society for French Studies is pleased to announce the launch of the Malcolm Bowie prize. The Malcolm Bowie prize will be awarded annually for the best article published in the preceding year by an early-career researcher in the broader discipline of French Studies. The Society feels it is particularly appropriate to honour Malcolm Bowies' memory with a prize for which only early-career scholars will be eligible, since he was a remarkable mentor to countless younger scholars, both in the UK and elsewhere. The prize will be worth £1000 and the Society will also pay the expenses of the winner to collect the prize in person at its annual conference.

The Malcolm Bowie Prize will be judged by an international panel of five distinguished scholars: Professor Edward Hughes (Queen Mary London), Professor Diana Knight (University of Nottingham), Professor Antoine Compagnon (ColumbiaUniversity and the Collège de France), Professor Alison Finch (Churchill College, Cambridge), and Professor Toril Moi (DukeUniversity).

The Society now invites nominations of articles published in 2007 from editors of learned journals, editors or publishers of collected volumes, and heads of university departments. Authors may not self-nominate (though they may of course ask editors, publishers, or university departments to consider nominating them). To be eligible for nomination, authors must be within five years of obtaining their PhD when their article is published (in this instance anyone who received his or her PhD in or after 2002 but before the end of 2007 will be eligible); articles may be published anywhere in the world, but must be written in French or English.

Nominations should be submitted by email to Professor Edward Hughes – e.j.hughes@qmul.ac.uk - together with a statement which includes full publication details of the article concerned and an indication of when and where the candidate's PhD was awarded. Nominations should be accompanied by a PDF file of the article as it appears in print, or failing this an offprint or xerox of the article as it appears in print that clearly shows the year of publication as 2007. Nominations not accompanied by a PDF file, offprint or xerox will not be valid.

The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2007 prize (including the article itself) is 31 January 2008. The winner will be announced in May 2008 and will receive her/ his prize at the annual conference of the Society for French Studies to be held at the University of Liverpool, 30 June-2 July, 2008.

Responsable : Society of French Studies

Url de référence :

Fil d'informations RSS Fil d'information RSS   Fabula sur Facebook Fabula sur Facebook   Fabula sur Twitter Fabula sur Twitter